Date: 23rd August 2018 at 4:34pm
Written by:

Celtic manager Brendan Rodgers has confirmed his starting eleven for tonight’s crucial UEFA Europa League play-off encounter away to Lithuanian champions FK Suduva.

As announced by UEFA, the full match squad is:

Starting XI: Craig Gordon, Cristian Gamboa, Jozo Simunovic, Kristoffer Ajer, Kieran Tierney, Olivier Ntcham, Scott Brown, Callum McGregor, James Forrest, Mikey Johnston, Moussa Dembele.

Substitutes: Scott Bain, Emilio Izaguirre, Leigh Griffiths, Scott Sinclair, Tom Rogic, Mikael Lustig, Eboue Kouassi.

The Hoops are boosted by the return of striker Moussa Dembele, who has featured from the bench in the last two matches and returned to scoring for against Partick Thistle at the weekend.

It’s something of a surprise to see young Mikey Johnston in the starting line-up given he has played just a handful of games prior to this evening. He looked sharp against Partick last Saturday but will need to be more clinical in the final third this evening.

With Dedryck Boyata and Jack Hendry out through injury, Rodgers has gone with Simunovic and Ajer in the centre of defence as expected.

Fans will also be pleased to see Costa Rican Cristian Gamboa retain his place in the side after an impressive showing last time out.

Can the Hoops take a positive result back to Celtic Park for the second leg?

Kick-off is at 6pm UK time.

What do you make of tonight’s team? Share your thoughts in the comments below…


Your Comment